Announcements

FALL 2020 Athletic Updates
Information regarding cheer, volleyball,  football, and policy meetings will be sent out via School Messenger when we have more information regarding the opening of school.  This website will be updated as we have more information as well.  Please note that current physicals expire June 30th. Any physical dated after May 1, 2020 will be good until June 30, 2021. Thank you for your patience!  


Read Mountain Spring 2020 Tryout Information

Any student interested in trying out for a Read Mountain or Lord Botetourt athletic team must have a physical dated after May 1, 2019 and attend a policy meeting with a parent.  Students/Parents may attend a policy meeting at any school before the first tryout/practice.

Do I have to attend a policy meeting? 

Yes!  Due to recent policy changes, ALL student-athletes must attend a policy meeting with a parent for the 2019-20 school year.  (This is for one year only. Next year, we go back to grades 7, 9, and 11.)

Policy Meeting for Spring Sports

The meetings below are the only opportunities to attend a policy meeting before tryouts/practice begin. Parents and students may attend ANY of the meetings below to satisfy this requirement! 

School

Date

Time

James River High School

February 13th

6:00 p.m.

Lord Botetourt High School

February 10th

6:00 p.m.

Central Academy Middle School

February 3rd

5:30 p.m.

Read Mountain Middle School

February 17th

5:30 p.m.


Do I need a physical?

All athletes must have a physical each year.  Physicals must be completed on the VHSL form and dated after May 1, 2019 for the 2019-20 school year. VHSL physical forms are available in the main office or on the RMMS athletics website forms page. 

RMMS Spring Tryouts

Athletes should be prepared for indoor and outdoor tryouts.

Baseball and softball will begin on Tuesday, February 18th immediately after school until 5:30 p.m. 

Boys and girls soccer will begin on Tuesday, February 18th immediately after school until 5:30 p.m.

Track will begin on Wednesday, February 26th immediately after school until 5:30 p.m.  

 

Contact Information

Program

Contact Name

Contact Email

RMMS Athletic Director

Stacey Jones

ssjones@bcps.k12.va.us

Baseball

Rusty Lang

tlang@bcps.k12.va.us

Boys Soccer

Todd Francis

tfrancis@bcps.k12.va.us

Girls Soccer

Keith Spencer

kspencer@bcps.k12.va.us

Softball

Julie Helton

jhelton@bcps.k12.va.us

Track

Chuck Burton

cburton@bcps.k12.va.us

 

Questions regarding JV baseball, softball, or soccer tryouts or preseason workouts/weightlifting should be directed to the AD at LBHS, Chuck Pound, at cpound@bcps.k12.va.us.

 

VHSL Physical Form

 

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.